Fabulous Feedback

Hannah Tyreman

There are a number of areas of my teaching practice that I’m looking to seriously improve this year and I’ve been writing about each aspect over the last few weeks. Perhaps of the utmost importance is feedback and marking. I am now entering my fifth year of teaching… crikey! I have been finding time after time that my marking has been taking me AGES. As an English teacher, it can soon stack up anyway but it was becoming an unmanageable beast. I was commenting and annotating and highlighting and target setting. Students would read it, sometimes ask me to discuss it and then it would be put to one side. I’d mark their next piece of work and the cycle would happen again. Nothing was done with the feedback and necessary changes weren’t being implemented. Even if I could cope with the fact my marking was taking me so long…

View original post 2,805 more words

Leave a Reply

